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The Kansas Eviction Prevention Program (KEPP) may 

be able to help. 

The Kansas Eviction Prevention Program, funded 

through the CARES Act, authorized by Governor Kelly’s 

SPARK Task Force, and administered by Kansas Housing 

Resources Corporation (KHRC), provides rental assistance 

to landlords whose tenants have missed one or more 

rental payment(s) due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

STRUGGLING TO COLLECT RENT 
DUE TO COVID?

+ Landlords and tenants apply via a joint online process.

+ If the application is approved, the landlord receives 

	 rental assistance funds directly from KEPP.

+ Landlord accepts KEPP funds as rental payment 

	 and waives late fee(s) for the month(s) assistance is	

	 awarded. 

+ Approved tenants are eligible for a maximum of 

	 nine months of assistance, not to exceed $5,000 per 

	 household.

HOW IT WORKS
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For maximum statewide impact, KHRC limits 

grants or loans to no more than $400,000 per  

awardee. Requests for Proposals are released 

each summer, with applications due to KHRC 

in mid-October.

WHO CAN APPLY:

Cities and counties with populations 

fewer than 60,000.

HOW TO APPLY:

1  Complete online Landlord Certification. 

2 Receive confirmation e-mail from KHRC.

3 Gather required supporting documents 

	 from tenant.

4 Enter tenant information and upload COVID 

	 documentation using the link provided in 

	 KHRC’s confirmation e-mail. 

5 Upload tenant certification or provide link 

	 for tenant to complete certification online.

6 Landlord and tenant both receive an e-mail 

	 when tenant completes the application.

7 Landlord and tenant both receive an e-mail 

	 notifying them if application is approved or 

	 denied.

8 If approved, landlord receives ACH funds 

	 directly from KHRC, applies funds to the 

	 appropriate tenant account(s), and waives 

	 late fee(s) for month(s) for which assistance 

	 was received.

Unlocking Home

YOU MAY QUALIFY FOR THIS PROGRAM  
IF YOU AND YOUR TENANT(S) MEET ALL OF THE FOLLOWING 
CRITERIA:

+ Tenant(s) have missed at least one rental payment since 

	 April 1, 2020.

+ Tenant and all of their household member(s), if applicable, are 

	 Kansas resident(s) legally authorized to be in the United States.

+ Tenant is seeking rental assistance for their primary residence.

+ Neither you nor your tenant have received rental assistance 

	 from other sources for the month(s) for which you are 

	 requesting assistance. 

+ Tenant(s) can demonstrate that the COVID pandemic has 

	 had an adverse impact on their employment or income 

	 beginning January 20, 2020 or later. Adverse effects may 

	 include layoff due to mandated shutdowns and/or business 

	 closure, job loss, reduction of hours, or inability to work due 

	 to COVID-related illness or lack of childcare. 

+ Tenant’s household income is at or below 85 percent of the 

	 state median income, or $63,920 for a household of four.

IF TENANT QUALIFIES FOR TANF, SNAP, OR LIEAP ASSISTANCE, 
THEY AUTOMATICALLY MEET THE PROGRAM’S INCOME 
REQUIREMENTS.

Program funds are limited and only available 

for a short time. Applications will be processed 

in the order received. Submit your application 

as soon as possible to increase your likelihood 

of receiving assistance.

LEARN MORE 

kshousingcorp.org/eviction-prevention-program 


